The 12th annual Butler County One Act Festival is set for 7 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 16 at Aquinas High School North gym. Play production teams from David City and East Butler will join the Aquinas cast and crew for an evening of entertainment.

Since 2006, hundreds of high school students have put their play productions on the stage as they prepare for the pursuit of district championships and a state trophy.

The Butler County Arts Council presents the festival, which draws parents and grandparents for a mid-November night of comedy and drama, providing experience in acting, directing, costuming, makeup, lights and sound production.

The festival also provides much needed funds for youth theater, with proceeds going back into the schools’ play  budgets as well as enough being held over for the annual summer youth theater, a one-day clinic of stage education.

The plays start at 7 p.m. with intermissions during the set changes. Union Bank and Trust is hosting the reception during intermissions between the three productions. 

Admission is $8 for adults and $5 for children.


"Little Shop of Horrors"

Seymour, an orphan and a nerd, is taken in and given a job by Mr. Mushnik, the owner of a run down floral shop in the seedy part of town. Seymour spends his time doing menial tasks and dreaming of the shop assistant, Audrey. One day, just after an eclipse of the Sun, Seymour discovers a strange plant. He buys it and names is Audrey II. While caring for Audrey II, Seymour discovers the plant's rather unique appetite. The plant grows and grows, as does Seymour's infatuation for Audrey, but who will get her first? FEED ME!

Cast: Chiffon- Madelaine Comte; Crystal -Libby Aschoff; Ronnette- Morgan Littlefield; Mr. Mushnik -Josh Roh; Audrey - Sarah Juranek; Seymore- Will Yindrick; Orin -Travis Roh; Audrey II Voice- Eli Reiter; Customer 1 - Becky Roh; Chinese Florist-Cody Hein; Audrey II puppeteers- Nathan Uhrmacher and Jude Yindrick.

Director: Ann Heermann. Assistant Director – Katie Brezina. Crew Chief – Caleb Brezina.

Crew: Bridget Sisco, Nolan Maguire, Daniel Reiter, Sam Wisnieski, Isaac Archuleta, Jenna Kobza, Julie Humlicek, Veronica Kobza, Jonathan Drozda, Zach Chromy, Emily Dalton, Logan Helgoth,

Suzanne Oborny, Dan Stara, Collin Hain, Wyatt Moravec, Rylan Chromy, Brett Kobza, Kyle Napier, Keyan Helgoth, Brian Cech, Russell Brezina, Jake Witter, Peter Sisco, Jessica Dybdal, Macy Moravec, Kaylee Miller.

Sound: Matthew Duke, Jonathan Duke, John Dalton, Zach Miller.

Lights: Josina Hain, Michelle Stuhr, Lily Plasek, Kolby Baer.

Orchestra: Guitar: Jacob Kadlec; Piano: Karen Ostry; Percussion: Rick Comte.

East Butler

“Dear Chuck”

Author: Jonathan Dorf Director: Courtney Johnson

Teenagers are typically caught in the middle—they're not quite adults, but they're definitely no longer children. Through a series of scenes and monologues, we meet an eclectic group of teen characters who are trying to communicate with that wannabe special someone, coping with divorce, battling controlling parents, swimming for that island of calm in the stormy sea of technology—and many others. What they all have in common is the search for their "Chuck," that elusive moment of knowing who you are.

Characters in order of appearance: Kristine Tejral as Girl #1; Erin Barta as Girl #2; Suzie Piitz as Girl #3; Cristian Hofpar as Boy #1; Brooklyn Jones as Girl #4; Jade Matulka as Girl #5; Morgan Osmera as Girl #6; Tristan Rezac as Boy #2; Lizzie Pernicek as Girl #7; Audrey Belew as Girl #8; Levi Belew as Boy #3; Sydney Christensen as Girl #9; Kaylee Hollandsworth as Girl #10.

Technical crew: Lucas Morgan, Roxanne Bergman, Liz Benes, Madison Helman, Tori Ratkovec, Madyson Paseka, Olivia Bohac, Sophia Bergman, Kailyn Hummel, Matthew Janak, Morgan Jones, Angelyna Mitchem, Lexi Haney, Erin Timoney, Zoie Keagy, Julia Dvorak, Kylee Martinez, Cassie Kubik, Addie Sullivan, Nevada Mentink, Morgan Riha, and Linda Kriz.

Dear Chuck was originally commissioned and developed by the Choate Rosemary Hall Summer Arts Conservatory.

David City 

"The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus"

By Christopher Marlowe Adaptation by Frank Toelle

Director: Jarod Ockander

In this 1592 literary classic, Dr. Faustus becomes dissatisfied with his studies of medicine, law, logic, and theology; therefore, he decides to turn to the magic or dark arts. Helen and Mephistophilis help to serve and convince Faustus to relinquish his soul for infinite power and knowledge. Faustus enjoys his powers for twenty-four years until Lucifer and his minions come to collect their prize.

**Production contains adult subject matter**

**Production contains the use of simulated weapons and smoke machines**

Dr. Faustus: Jackson Hardin; Helen: Bethany Tebbe; Pride: Sarah Wolfenden; Lust: Renee Backstrom; Envy: Carter Ossian; Helen Evil Spirits: Ivy Miller, Ashlee Marvin, Rachel Roemmich, Vivian Palencia, Jennifer Knopp; Good Angels: Laurel Ockander, Good Angel: Maya Couch, Daphne Navarro; Evil Angeld: Evelyn Carreto, Skylar Busch; Sloth: Ciera Poulas; Mephistophilis: Will Heller; Gluttony: Ashley Roemmich; Greed: Neleigh Kovar; Wrath: Kirsten Bell; Wrath: Brooke Bell; Mephistophilis Spirits: Jessica Knopp, Madison Jenson, Jasmyne McDonald-Gebert.

Lucifer: Josh Escamilla; Lucifer Spirits: Clayton Harris, Riley Paseka, Samantha Eaton;

Lights & Sound: Ebani Filbert, Rachael Janak, Katie Tresler.

Music: Bethany Tebbe, Seth Taylor, Mr. Joseph Brumm.

Additional Painting: Mrs. Tessa Vrbicky.

Stage Crew:

Doug Alvarado, Spencer Allen, Deborah White, Una Boe, Silvia Hernandez, Malcolm Maxwell, Riley Hlavac, Niclas Voigtlaender, Luis Lopez, Wayne Moore, Mathias Polacek, Anthony Scribner

Makeup/ Hair Crew:

Olivia Couch, Allie Daro, Lauren Hoeft, Chaquoya Givens, Madison Masek, Brooke Windedahl, Jaymee Lee, Brittney Palik, Isabel Small, Sidney Soukup, McKenna Murphy, Hannah Farmer, Payton McMillin, Kali Egr


Load comments