David City High School One Act District Champs

David City High School's One Act cast and crew poses with their District B-3 championship trophy on Dec. 1 at Milford High School. The team competes Friday in the State Class B Play Production Championships at Norfolk.

Aquinas is runner up in District B-3

It was evident at the Butler County One Act Festival in mid November that there were a couple gems of one act play production in David City. The District B-3 competition held Dec. 1 at Milford confirmed that observation.

The David City Scouts' production of "The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus" narrowly defeated “Little Shop of Horrors” presented by Aquinas.

At Districts, two of the three judges ranked David City first and Aquinas second, while the third judge ranked the Monarch production first, and the Scouts second.

Wahoo Bishop Neumann’s play, “Radium Girls” was a solid third.  Rounding out the field was Milford  at fourth with “I’m Not Ebenezer Scrooge!,” Raymond Central at Fifth with “Into the Woods, Jr., ” North Bend Central  sixth with “Runaways,” and Wahoo seventh with “The Life of Riley 1929.”

The Scouts are headed for the Class B State One Act Championship set for Friday at the Johnny Carson Theater at Norfolk High School. The performance is set for 1:15 p.m.     

The Scouts will present an encore public performance at 7:30 p.m. on Monday, Dec. 11.

Winning acting awards for David City were: Jackson Hardin, Bethany Tebbe, Sarah Wolfenden, Renee Backstrom, Carter Ossian, William Heller, Ashley Roemmich, Kirsten Bell, Brooke Bell, Josh Escamilla.

For Aquinas, awards went to seven of the 12 actors on the cast, and seven of the nine who appear on stage: Will Yindrick, Sarah Juranek, Josh Roh, Madelaine Comte, Libby Aschoff,  Morgan Littlefield, and Travis Roh. "The kids did an amazing job," said director Ann Heermann. "I'm so proud of them. In any other district I truly believe we would be going to state." 

 "The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus"

By Christopher Marlowe Adaptation by Frank Toelle

Director: Jarod Ockander

In this 1592 literary classic, Dr. Faustus becomes dissatisfied with his studies of medicine, law, logic, and theology; therefore, he decides to turn to the magic or dark arts. Helen and Mephistophilis help to serve and convince Faustus to relinquish his soul for infinite power and knowledge. Faustus enjoys his powers for twenty-four years until Lucifer and his minions come to collect their prize.

Dr. Faustus: Jackson Hardin; Helen: Bethany Tebbe; Pride: Sarah Wolfenden; Lust: Renee Backstrom; Envy: Carter Ossian; Helen Evil Spirits: Ivy Miller, Ashlee Marvin, Rachel Roemmich, Vivian Palencia, Jennifer Knopp; Good Angels: Laurel Ockander, Good Angel: Maya Couch, Daphne Navarro; Evil Angeld: Evelyn Carreto, Skylar Busch; Sloth: Ciera Poulas; Mephistophilis: Will Heller; Gluttony: Ashley Roemmich; Greed: Neleigh Kovar; Wrath: Kirsten Bell; Wrath: Brooke Bell; Mephistophilis Spirits: Jessica Knopp, Madison Jenson, Jasmyne McDonald-Gebert.

Lucifer: Josh Escamilla; Lucifer Spirits: Clayton Harris, Riley Paseka, Samantha Eaton;

Lights & Sound: Ebani Filbert, Rachael Janak, Katie Tresler.

Music: Bethany Tebbe, Seth Taylor, Mr. Joseph Brumm.

Additional Painting: Mrs. Tessa Vrbicky.

Stage Crew: Doug Alvarado, Spencer Allen, Deborah White, Una Boe, Silvia Hernandez, Malcolm Maxwell, Riley Hlavac, Niclas Voigtlaender, Luis Lopez, Wayne Moore, Mathias Polacek, Anthony Scribner

Makeup/ Hair Crew: Olivia Couch, Allie Daro, Lauren Hoeft, Chaquoya Givens, Madison Masek, Brooke Windedahl, Jaymee Lee, Brittney Palik, Isabel Small, Sidney Soukup, McKenna Murphy, Hannah Farmer, Payton McMillin, Kali Egr

Technical Crew: Spencer Allen, Douglas Alvarado Joaquin, Preston Beringer, Una Wen Boe, Olivia Couch, Allison Daro, Kali Egr, Hannah Farmer, Ebani Filbert, Chaquoya Givens, Silvia Hernandez Corona, Riley Hlavac, Lauren Hoeft, Rachael Janak, Jeremy Johnson, Luis Lopez Gomez, Madison Masek, Malcolm Maxwell, Wayne Moore, McKenna Murphy, Brittney Palik, Matthias Polacek, Gunner Poulas, Isabel Small, Sidney Soukup, Seth Taylor, Kathryn Tresler, Brooke Windedahl

Here are the plays that qualified in Class B:


12:30 p.m. "The Beggar's Opera" -Written by: adapted from John Gay by Charles Jeffries and Jerry Knight

Director: Danielle Goetsch

David City

1:15 p.m. "The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus" - By Christopher Marlowe Adaptation by Frank Toelle. Director: Jarod Ockander


 2 p.m. "The Balkan Women" - Written by: Jules Tasca. Director: Candie Johnson. 2 p.m. 


2: 45 p.m. "Divine Separation" - Written by: Barre Gonzalez. Director: Allison Bauers.


 3:30 p.m. "Chasing Fogg" - Written by: Adapted from articles by Elizabeth J Cochran. Director: Kyle Vincent

Omaha Concordia

4:15 p.m. "Arsenic and Old Lace"- Written by: Joseph Kesserling. Director: Chase Winter.



Load comments