Local students awarded scholarships from Wayne

COLUMBUS -- Sierra Heesacker of Columbus has been awarded a Black and Gold Academic Excellence Scholarship valued at $1,500 to continue her education at Wayne State College. Heesacker, daughter of Jason and Jennifer Heesacker, will be a 2018 graduate of Lakeview High School. Her high school activities include softball, track, Revolution, National Honor Society and FBLA.

Kennedy Jones, a senior at Columbus High School, has been awarded a Black and Gold Academic Excellence Scholarship valued at $1,500 to continue her education at Wayne State College. She is the daughter of Jeff and Kerri Jones. Her activities at CHS include softball, basketball, soccer, student council, National Honor Society, CHS 101, and C-Club. Jones also volunteers at Columbus Community Hospital.

Bignell, Donnelly chosen by Sertoma

COLUMBUS -- The Columbus Sertoma Club recently recognized two Lakeview students as the Students of the month for February. Morgan Bignell, a senior at Lakeview High School, is the daughter of Keith and Robin Bignell. She has been on the honor roll all four years of high school, and has been a member of the Lakeview Student Council four years, currently serving as president. She has also been a member of the Viking Voices Show Choir for four years. In athletics, Bignell was a four year member of the basketball team, four years of soccer, two years on the volleyball team, and one year on the golf team. Outside of school she is a member of the Youth Group at 1C Church where she also serves as a volunteer. After high school she plans to attend the College of Hair Design and become a certified Cosmetologist/Esthetician, eventually owning her own business.

Sean Donnelly is a senior at Lakeview, and is the son of Patrick and Kris Donnelly. He has been on the honor roll where he has maintained a 3.72 GPA, and is a member of the Lakeview FBLA. He works part-time at Nebraska Sports. In athletics, Donnelly has been a member of the Lakeview football team for two years, the basketball team for four years, and the baseball team for four years. After high school he plans to attend a four year college, but has not chosen a college or major at this time.

Raimondo is Rotary Student of Month

COLUMBUS -- Natalie Raimondo, a senior at Columbus High School and daughter of Mary and Phil Raimondo, has been chosen as the Rotary Student of the Month. Raimondo is a member of the National Honor Society and the student council. She has earned letters in vocal music (New World Singers), CHS Theatre, and cheerleading. She is also involved in Revolution and is the Tri-M president. Other activities include Godparents, duck sales for United Way, and danceing at Lynette’s. Her hobbies include singing, dancing, playing the piano and working at Fr. Price Daycare. Her future plans include attending UNL with a major in nutritional sciences and a minor in music.

Scotus to host honor band, choir

COLUMBUS -- Scotus Central Catholic will host the Centennial Conference Honor Band and Choir March 17. The concert will be at 4 p.m. in the Scotus Dowd Activity Center and is open to the public. Scotus band members selected for the Conference Honor Band are Debanhi Adame, Sam Blaser, Emily Carstens, Tim Ehlers, Tara Kamrath, Braden Labenz, Isaac McPhillips, Isaac Ostdiek, Katie Stachura, Abigail Stuart, Elliott Thomazin, and Keira Feehan.

Cross County students in honor band/choir

STROMSBURG – Cross County Community School has announced students earning a spot in the Cross Roads Conference Honor Band and Honor Choir. Medalist in the honor band are: Ben Tidyman, alto sax; Alexis Eller, French horn; Danny Bresnahan, mallets; Lane Kelley, battery percussion; Ethan Peterson, timpani. Other members of the honor band are: Faith Fellows, clarinet; Colby Nelson, alto sax; Kenna Holtzen, alto sax; Amanda Giannou, alto sax; Landen Berck, tenor sax; Alex Pinkelman, bari sax; Brittney Myers, trumpet; Shea Corwin, trumpet; Grant Hollinger, trombone; Isaiah Spahn, trombone; Conner Shoup, baritone; Reggie Rafert, tuba; Lincoln Kelley, battery percussion.

Medalists for the honor choir are: Rachel Smith, soprano; Danny Breshanhan, tenor; Grant Hollinger, bass; Nathan Hennessy, bass. Other members of the honor choir are: Hannah Pfeifly, soprano; Emily Harris, soprano; Kanitha Spahn, soprano; Ruby Johansen, soprano; Sammie Osentowski, alto; Kathryn Galvan, alto.

Those earning number one ranking in conference based on auditions are: Rachel Smith, Danny Bresnahan and Grant Hollinger.