Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Jackson Hardin named best male actor; Bethany Tebbe, Will Heller also named outstanding actors

David City High School's one act cast and crew won the the State Class B Play Production Championship Friday afternoon in Norfolk. 

The play, the "The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus," was judged first, with Cozad's "Chasing Fogg" named runner-up. It's the school's first championship since winning Class C1 in 2007.

Senior Jackson Hardin was named best male actor for the finals. He and other key actors, Bethany Tebbe (Helen) and Will Heller (Mephistophilis) were named outstanding actors. David City won the most individual honors.

Carrie Osborn of Cozad was named best female actress.

Pierce High School's crew was named outstanding crew of the competition.

"The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus"

By Christopher Marlowe Adaptation by Frank Toelle

Director: Jarod Ockander

In this 1592 literary classic, Dr. Faustus becomes dissatisfied with his studies of medicine, law, logic, and theology; therefore, he decides to turn to the magic or dark arts. Helen and Mephistophilis help to serve and convince Faustus to relinquish his soul for infinite power and knowledge. Faustus enjoys his powers for twenty-four years until Lucifer and his minions come to collect their prize.

Dr. Faustus: Jackson Hardin; Helen: Bethany Tebbe; Pride: Sarah Wolfenden; Lust: Renee Backstrom; Envy: Carter Ossian; Helen Evil Spirits: Ivy Miller, Ashlee Marvin, Rachel Roemmich, Vivian Palencia, Jennifer Knopp; Good Angels: Laurel Ockander, Good Angel: Maya Couch, Daphne Navarro; Evil Angeld: Evelyn Carreto, Skylar Busch; Sloth: Ciera Poulas; Mephistophilis: Will Heller; Gluttony: Ashley Roemmich; Greed: Neleigh Kovar; Wrath: Kirsten Bell; Wrath: Brooke Bell; Mephistophilis Spirits: Jessica Knopp, Madison Jenson, Jasmyne McDonald-Gebert.

Lucifer: Josh Escamilla; Lucifer Spirits: Clayton Harris, Riley Paseka, Samantha Eaton;

Lights & Sound: Ebani Filbert, Rachael Janak, Katie Tresler.

Music: Bethany Tebbe, Seth Taylor, Mr. Joseph Brumm.

Additional Painting: Mrs. Tessa Vrbicky.

Stage Crew: Doug Alvarado, Spencer Allen, Deborah White, Una Boe, Silvia Hernandez, Malcolm Maxwell, Riley Hlavac, Niclas Voigtlaender, Luis Lopez, Wayne Moore, Mathias Polacek, Anthony Scribner

Makeup/ Hair Crew: Olivia Couch, Allie Daro, Lauren Hoeft, Chaquoya Givens, Madison Masek, Brooke Windedahl, Jaymee Lee, Brittney Palik, Isabel Small, Sidney Soukup, McKenna Murphy, Hannah Farmer, Payton McMillin, Kali Egr

Technical Crew: Spencer Allen, Douglas Alvarado Joaquin, Preston Beringer, Una Wen Boe, Olivia Couch, Allison Daro, Kali Egr, Hannah Farmer, Ebani Filbert, Chaquoya Givens, Silvia Hernandez Corona, Riley Hlavac, Lauren Hoeft, Rachael Janak, Jeremy Johnson, Luis Lopez Gomez, Madison Masek, Malcolm Maxwell, Wayne Moore, McKenna Murphy, Brittney Palik, Matthias Polacek, Gunner Poulas, Isabel Small, Sidney Soukup, Seth Taylor, Kathryn Tresler, Brooke Windedahl

Here are the plays that qualified in Class B:

Cozad (runner up)

"Chasing Fogg" - Written by: Adapted from articles by Elizabeth J Cochran. Director: Kyle Vincent


 "The Beggar's Opera" -Written by: adapted from John Gay by Charles Jeffries and Jerry Knight

Director: Danielle Goetsch

David City

 "The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus" - By Christopher Marlowe Adaptation by Frank Toelle. Director: Jarod Ockander


"The Balkan Women" - Written by: Jules Tasca. Director: Candie Johnson. 2 p.m. 


 "Divine Separation" - Written by: Barre Gonzalez. Director: Allison Bauers.

Omaha Concordia

"Arsenic and Old Lace"- Written by: Joseph Kesserling. Director: Chase Winter.

Record of Success

David City qualified for State One Act for the 12th time. Here are the NSAA records for the team's success.

State Champion: C1/2005, C1/2007  B/2017 

State Runner-Up: C1/2000, C1/2001, C1/2002, C1/2006, B/2011

Third Place: B/2008

Qualifying Years: C/1986-I, C/1993, C/1994, C1/2000, C1/2001, C1/2002, C1/2005, C1/2006, C1/2007, B/2008, B/2011

Outstanding Performance Winners:

2005 Michael Betzen

2007 Madison Shore

2008 Michaela Hruska

2011 Elizabeth Hruska

2017 Jackson Hardin


Load comments