Two familiar names showed up on the medalist list at the Central 10 Conference held at the Lutjelusche course in Columbus on Oct. 9.

Marisol Deanda ran a brilliant race to finish in fifth place with a time of 20 minutes, 37.35 seconds while Eduardo Carrasco finished in seventh place in the bosy division with a time of 17:11.64.

Both teams finished in the middle of the pack, with the boys taking fifth place with 92 points while the girls finished in sixth with 101 points.

The conference champion in the girls division was Lexington with 34 points followed by Aurora in second place with 43 points. Lexington also breezed to the boys title with 15 points while Seward finished in second place with 37.

Boys head coach Rick Carter was pleased with how his team finished in the extremely competitive meet.

“Our team goal was to place as a team in the top five," he said. "To finish in fifth place in our conference is really outstanding, especially this year with so many state-ranked teams in our conference.”

Carter also had high praise for several of his runners.

“Eduardo had a very strong race passing two runners in the final 100 meters," he said. "All of the varsity boys ran well with Hugo Ramon in 22nd place, Kenny Mejia in 25th place, Gavin Bywater in 38th place, Jesus Carrasco in 39th place and Emmanuel Zuniga in 43rd out of 180 total runners.”

Register for more free articles
Stay logged in to skip the surveys

The girls head coach, Cortland Cassidy, was also pleased with his group's overall showing. Times continued to drop and confidence continued to grow.

“Just about every girl ran a personal best today," he said. "Whenever that happens, it’s a good day.”

Cassidy praised Deanda’s fine performance.

“Marisol ran another personal record," he said. "We are looking forward to seeing what she can do this next week at the district meet.”

The cross country teams will be competing in district action this Thursday at Benedictine Mount Michael in Elkhorn with the meet scheduled to begin at 4:30 p.m.

The top three teams and the top 15 individuals at four separate district locations will qualify for state on Oct. 25 on the campus of Nebraska-Kearney.

Doug Phillips is a freelance writer for the Schuyler Sun. Reach him via email at SCHsports@lee.net.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments