Try 1 month for 99¢

Kobza graduates from basic training

SAN ANTONIO -- Air Force National Guard Airman 1st Class Eric J. Kobza graduated from basic training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio.

Kobza completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness, and basic warfare principles and skills. Airmen who complete basic training also earn four credits toward an associate in science degree through the Community College of the Air Force.

Kobza earned distinction as an honor graduate, and also received the Warhawk award for exceptional physical fitness testing.

Kobza is the son of Ray and Cherie Kobza of David City, and a 2014 graduate of Aquinas Catholic High School in David City.

Local environmental group publishes findings

In mid-October, New Century Environmental LLC (NCE) in Columbus, was published in the Proceedings of the South Dakota Academy of Sciences.

Small mammal diversity and abundance were assessed from traps set in various relatively undisturbed habitats on the Lake Traverse Indian Reservation in 2011 and 2012, and on the Standing Rock Indian Reservation in 2014 through 2015.

The publication reports the list of species and their numbers found on both Indian Reservations in North and South Dakota. This is important for conservation and wildlife management on both reservations.

Local professionals named to Champions Circle

OMAHA -- Twenty-four First National Bank mortgage loan originators were recently recognized by the Nebraska Mortgage Association (NMA) as qualifying members of the organization’s Champions Circle. The award winners were honored at the NMA’s Fall Conference held September 18 in Omaha. The Champions Circle consists of mortgage originators who meet certain criteria set each year, based on the location/population of the originator. The qualification period for the award was from August 1, 2017 through July 31, 2018.

First National Bank’s 24 Champions Circle winners were among a total of 71 individuals statewide to be recognized as Champions Circle qualifiers for the 2017-18 year.

The First National Bank mortgage professionals named to the NMA’s Champions Circle from the Columbus area were: Leslie Larson, $8,535,277 in loan volume and 49 closed loans; and Marci Nelson, $8,005,233 in loan volume and 51 closed loans.

Local banker attends national meeting

Community bankers around the country gathered in Washington, D.C., last month to discuss the regulatory challenges currently facing community banks across the country, according to Jeff Johnson, President, Columbus Bank and Trust.

Bankers had discussions on Community Reinvestment Act modernization, current expected credit loss provisions, Bank Secrecy Act and anti-money laundering compliance, brokered deposits and the national rate cap, faster payments, and more. Council members also had a chance to exchange ideas on operational and business best practices.

Johnson has been at Columbus Bank for almost 20 years, the last five years as Chairman, President, and CEO.

CCH receives memorials

The Columbus Community Hospital Foundation has announced memorials that were received from Aug. 1-Oct. 31, 2018:

• In memory of Ruby Beckmann, by Marilyn Murray.

• In memory of Patsy Breuer, by Richard Breuer.

• In memory of Don Dworak, by Carol Keller.

• In memory of Phyllis Elliott, by Friends and Family, Richard and Edith Aerni, Ruth Boettcher, Jody and Debi Koch, Richard and Patricia Luebbe, Marilyn Murray, Jim and Suzanne Pillen, Joe and Rosie Quattrocchi, Douglas and Deborah Rasby, Robert and Shirley Walgren.

• In memory of Robert (Bob) Fischer, by Riversdale Improvement Association.

• In memory of Eilert Fricke, by Gregory and Peggy Fiala, Wayne and Elizabeth Fricke, Grace Hoeft, Elizabeth Kros, E. M. Heckman Nelson, James and Connie Weber.

• In memory of Marilyn Gangel, by Lloyd and Kay Castner, Anna Castner Wightman, Lee and Shirley Hroza, Robert and Chris Markham, Robert and Gail Mead.

• In memory of Gale Goering, by Friends and Family, Drs. Kip and Deborah Anderson, Rogene Anderson, Cecilia Bartholomew, Susan Brandt, Corey and Nancy Briggs, Robert Carrig, C. and J. Hicks Cashmere, Steven Cohn and Jill Simonson, Emma Jean Dickey, Kenneth and Angela Dolezal, Lee and Carolyn Fittje, Melissa Foltz, Lawrence and Myrna Franzen, Terry Gaver, Dorothy Glaser, Oren and Nancy Goering, Aleta Heins, George and Sylvia Hermone, Jeffrey and Susan Hertzler, Mark and Jane Holt, Tim and Rita Jazwick, Cliff Jensen and Jeannie Kiser, Dwayne and Mary Johnson, Boyd and Kathryn Jones, Bethine Leif George Menke, Russell and Diane Moravec, Glen and Alice Plettner, Arlis Plummer, Dean and Joan Plummer, Joyce Runge, Keith Runge, Delores Sander, Jim and Arlee Schaefer, Larry and Katherine Schmidt, Thomas and Doris Sliva, Gale and Carole Tessendorf, Louis and Barbara Welch, Patricia Woodrick, Paul and Kathleen Yrkoski.

• In memory of Joyce Haskell, by Jim and Connie Hellbusch, Rita Samuelson.

• In memory of Deb Kessler, by Marlene Engel.

• In memory of David “Dave” Massman, by Robert and Gail Mead.

• In memory of Jaqueline “Jackie” Medlar, by CCH Volunteer and former Auxiliary members, Robert and Shirley Walgren.

• In memory of Maurice Sergent, by Luann Warth.

• In honor of Dwayne Smith, by Jason Smith.

• In memory of Maxine Seefeld, by Family and Friends, Larry and Jean Andreasen, Daniel Hodge, Mark and Beth Olsen.

• In memory of Karen Spall, by Friends and Family of Karen Spall, Senior Leadership, Rogene Anderson, Donna Belitz, Kerry and Colleen Belitz, Amy Bhola, Amy and Chris Blaser, Carol Bottum, Sharon Czarnick, Marlene Engel, James and Barbara Goulet, Aleta Heins, Joseph and Elizabeth Heskew , Lee and Shirley Hroza, Kevin and Ileana Jarecki, Martin and Margaret Needels, William and Carol Pfau, Betty Plankinton,

• James and Judy Puetz, Paul and Ardys Randall, George and Glenda Steinsberger, James and Laura Wahl, Joan Whaley.

• In memory of Randy Weiser, by Robert and Kris Markham.

• In memory of Richard Zach, by Henrietta Zach.

PCHS memorials received

The following gifts in honor and memorials were received by the Platte County Historical Society during the month of October 2018:

• In honor of the 60th anniversary of John and Verone Schoepf, by Peggy Tanner.

• In memory of Carroll Behlen, by Nebraska Rod and Custom Ass’n.

• In memory of Connie Clausen, by Doug and Janice Nelson.

• In memory of Roland DeBower, by Mr. and Mrs. Reggie Briza.

• In memory of Gayle Goering, by Cheri Schrader.

• In memory of Don Hey, by Terry Gaver, Mr. and Mrs. Ronnie Mueller.

• In memory of Jan Means, by Mr. and Mrs. Harry Rosche, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Walgren, Mr. and Mrs. Jerome Jilek.

• In memory of Glenda Kush Roelle, by Marlene Brentzel.

• In memory of Larry Thalken, by Larry and Katherine Redel.

• In memory of Dick Toof, by Catherine Wibbels.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments