Subscribe for 17¢ / day

COLUMBUS – Three seats on the Platte County Board of Supervisors will be contested in the May 15 primary election as the deadline for non-incumbent candidates passed at 5 p.m. Thursday 

The District 1 slot on the board was the only race uncontested when the Feb. 15 incumbent filing deadline as Republican Tom Martens of Columbus filed for re-election the day of the incumbent deadline, but he withdrew his name from the ballot a week later.

Four non-incumbents will now contend for the open seat, including John Harms, a Columbus Libertarian, Todd Stuthman and Fred Liss, both Columbus Republicans, filed in February, while Barb Siedlik, a Columbus Democrat, filed on Thursday as the non-incumbent deadline neared.

Incumbents for two other supervisor seats, Districts 5 and 7, will also face challengers. 

District 5 Republican Bob Lloyd of Monroe is running for re-election in District 5 and Hollie Olk, a Columbus Republican, filed for another term in District 7.

Lloyd and Olk are being challenged for their seats on the board by newcomers Randy Fisher of Monroe and Kim Kwapnaski of Columbus, who filed Feb. 28 and March 1, respectively. Both of the challengers are Republicans.

Supervisor James Scow, a Columbus Republican, will seek re-election in District 3. He was unopposed as Thursday’s deadline passed.

The incumbents for all other county elected officials’ offices filed for re-election this year. None were challenged as the non-incumbent deadline expired.

Other incumbents in Platte County races filed to seek re-election in 2018, including Diane Pinger, county clerk, Republican; Tom Placzek, county assessor, Republican; Diane Kapels, register of deeds, Republican; Marlene Vetick, clerk of the district court, Republican; Jennifer Reppert, county treasurer, Republican; Ed Wemhoff, county sheriff, Republican; Carl Hart Jr., county attorney, Democrat; Timothy Matas, public defender, Republican; and Thomas Tremel, county surveyor, Republican.

Incumbents for four Columbus City Council seats are also seeking re-election.

Beth Augustine-Schulte is running in Ward 1, Dennis Kresha in Ward 2, Richard Jablonski in Ward 3 and J. Prent Roth in Ward 4.

Two incumbents are running for another term on the Columbus Public Schools board.

Board President Theresa Seipel is seeking another four-year term. Douglas Molczyk is running for his first full term on the board. He was appointed in 2015 and later ran to fill out the final two years of the term of Francis Kuehler, who resigned to move to Humphrey.

Challengers for three openings on the board include non-incumbents Mary Wiegand, Michael Jeffryes and Karina Lopez

Lakeview school board members Ryan Loseke and Keith Runge of rural Columbus are seeking re-election this year. Non-incumbents Chad Anderson of rural Columbus and Larry Hassebrook of Platte Center are also running for one of the three openings on the board.

On the Humphrey School Board, incumbents Julia Preister, Kevin Kallweit, Alan Huettner and Ron Zach all filed for re-election.

Offices that that will be on the Nov. 6  general election ballot include the villages of Cornlea, Creston, Duncan, Lindsay, Monroe, Platte Center and Tarnov. County township board elections also appear only on the general election ballot.



Jim Osborn is a news reporter at The Columbus Telegram.

Load comments