COLUMBUS – Lakeview High School honored 15 of its graduating seniors who were awarded post-secondary education scholarships Wednesday during its first-ever Academic Signing Day.

The school regularly hosts athletic signings throughout the year and wanted to recognize students who excel academically, as well. The scholarships were awarded based on the students' outstanding ACT scores and high school GPA.

Seventh- through-twelfth-grade students filled the hall to witness the signings, as well as parents of the signees. 

Paige Rambour, high school guidance counselor at Lakeview Community Schools, said the event showcases students' achievements to their younger peers, allowing them to see the importance of academics.

“So it’s really good for all our younger classes just to see that these are things that we can do in the future. Academics pay off,” Rambour said.

Students took turns going up to a podium based on the college or university they are enrolling to and each student received a certificate.

First up were students who received scholarships to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. These included Landon Vogt, Marina Jimenez, Maverick Pilakowski, Donavon Rosas and Jessica Kapels.

Vogt and Pilakowski will be pursuing their bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering at UNL. Kapels will be majoring in forensic science and Rosas plans to pursue a bachelor’s degree in business administration.

Hayden Nelson received the honors program scholarship to the University of Nebraska at Kearney where he will be pursuing his bachelor’s degree in clinical psychology.

“He was awarded the honors program scholarship which criteria were an ACT score of 27 or higher and a high school GPA of 3.75 or higher,” Rambour said.

Northwest Missouri State University awarded Cailin Briggs the Academic Excellence and Bearcat Advantage Scholarship. Briggs will be pursuing her bachelor’s degree in human services at NMSU.

 Sean Donnelly was recognized for receiving the Jackrabbit Guarantee scholarship from South Dakota State University. Donnelly will be majoring in construction management at SDSU.

Jacob Sprunk was awarded the Nebraska Toy Farmer scholarship to Northeast Community College where he will be pursuing his bachelor’s degree in precision agriculture.

“I think Lakeview prepared us a lot for college and gave us good education to prepare us for college and set us up for our future,” Sprunk said.

Next up was Courtney Miller who received the Art and Merit Scholarship and University of Sioux Fall Recognition Scholarship. Miller will be majoring in art education.

The Creighton University Founders Award was awarded to Madelyn Hogeland. Hogeland will be double majoring in finance and communications.

 Mallory Gotschall received an Assessment Advantage scholarship and will be attending Central Community College majoring in occupational therapy.

 Megan Morton was awarded the Neihardt Scholarship to Wayne State College which “is one of the highest scholarships that Wayne State offers.”

“It is the most prestigious scholarship awarded by Wayne State,” Rambour said. “It was based on ACT and GPA.”

Morton will be majoring in middle-level education.

 Sierra Heesacker received the Black and Gold Academic Advantage scholarship and will also be attending Wayne State College. Heesacker will be pursuing her bachelor’s degree in elementary education.

“I am really excited,” Heesacker said. “That’s also a really new experience. I am excited to meet new people and then start building up to my career.”

The College of Saint Mary awarded its academic scholarship to senior student Brooklyn Wilke where she will be working toward being a nurse.

The students were happy with the school’s initiative to recognize their academic achievements.

“I thought it was really cool,” Heesacker said. “It’s a new experience so I am really excited to be a part of that and I think it went really well.”

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments