Try 3 months for $3

Armstrong’s art earns award

LINCOLN -- The Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) asked students in grades 1-6 to enter its annual poster contest focusing on the story of Nebraska agriculture and highlighting the diversity of the state’s number one industry. More than 2,200 posters were submitted. In the fifth and sixth grade division, the Governor’s Choice Award went to IsaBelle Armstrong, sixth grade student at Columbus Middle School. The winning posters can be viewed at

Pedersen to perform at Concordia

SEWARD -- Dane Pedersen of Columbus will be performing during the annual One-Act Play Festival, running April 5-7 in the Music Center on the campus of Concordia University. Pedersen is a junior who will be playing the roles of Adam Adverb in “"The Trial of Billy Scott" and Thomas Reus in “Ablaze.” The festival is a component of Concordia's play production course in which the students direct short plays. They each select a play, conduct auditions and rehearse with the cast, culminating in a weekend of their plays.

Twin River announces honor rolls

GENOA -- Twin River Public Schools has announced students earning honors for the third quarter of the 2017-18 academic year. Students on the honor roll with distinction are: Seniors – Alexis Borowiak, Natalie Held, Shyla Oberhauser, Ryan Range, Madelyn Rinkol, Calista Shanle; Juniors – Blake Booth, Ashley Borowiak, Hallie Ellenwood, Macie Engstrom, Lana Hebda, Derek Irish, Halle Konz, Dylan Loewe, Katherine Mohr, Bailey Oberhauaser, Korie Rosno, Brianna Reeg, Kelsey Swantek, Madison Ternus, Gabrielle Wieck, Joseph Zwiener; Sophomores – Tucker Alexander, Landon Cuba, Catherine Laska, Marissa Morris, Irelynd Pearson, Payton Rinkol, Zakari Runge, Trevor Strain, Caitlyn Van Winkle, Mackenzie Whitlow; Freshmen – Alexis Cherry, Weston Graham, Caleb Jenkinson, Sydnei Kemper, Owen Koziol, Tate Koziol, Conner Oberhauser; Eighth grade – Kenedi Covert, Kamryn Lemburg, Kadren Miller, Natalie Reeg, Whitney Schmidt, Allison Sikes, Racheal Strain, Raina Swanson, Makynzie Swantek, Hannah Urban, Scott Wyman, Aaron Ziemba; Seventh grade – Adam Behrens, Victoria Cornwell, Aiden Cuba, Sophie Frenzen, Haylee Finn, Caden Jenkinson, Spencer Kula, Ella Steensnes, Braden Ternus, Korbe Urkoski, Hannah Yrkoski.

Students on the honor roll are: Seniors – Gracie Baker, April Kleckner, Michaela Morris, Nina Parry, Jack Reeg; Juniors – Logan Dickey, Jamison Urkoski; Sophomores – Chloe Cave, Jacob Czarnick, Mason Prososki, Grant Swantek; Freshmen – Lucas Cook, Joshua Czarnick, Nicholas Euse, Ross Hebda, Brianna Konwinski, Breanna Schroder, Hannah Shemek, Emilee Spitz; Eighth grade – Katrina Borowiak, Juan Davalos, Gunner Fink, Madelynn Kreienhop, Jackson Strain, Mason Tenski; Seventh grade – Liberty Baker, Tessa Bennett, Isabella Davalos, Jameson Jensen, Reghan Reis, Faith Zimmer.

Denton headed to Girl’s State


PLATTE CENTER – Savanna Denton of Platte Center has been selected to attend the American Legion Auxiliary Cornhusker Girl’s State, being held June 3-9 at UNL. Denton is currently a junior at Lakeview High School, and was selected by the Platte Center Auxiliary Unit 283.

Denton is the daughter of Richard and Judy Denton of Platte Center. She is a member of the National Honor Society, FBLA, mock trial, Columbus Chamber of Commerce Youth Leadership Class, Capital Forum, and is a Lakeview band member. She also played on the high school softball team, participated in state speech, and is the speech captain for the Lakeview team.

Denton currently works at Pizza Ranch and will be traveling to Peru with Global Leadership Adventures this summer following Girl’s State.

Cross County announces honor rolls

STROMSBURG -- Cross County Community Schools has announced students earning honors for the third quarter of the 2017 academic year. Students on the All A Honor Roll are: Seniors - Daniel Bresnahan, Alexis Eller, Allyn Miller, Kaylen Miller; Juniors - Brittani Platt; Sophomores - Savannah Anderson, Landen Berck, Faith Fellows, Amanda Giannou, Kenna Holtzen, Vanessa Jurado, Colton Nuttelman, Randy Rafert, Isaiah Spahn; Freshmen - Shea Corwin, Ruby Johansen, Lincoln Kelley, Madelyn Portwine, Cortlyn Schaefer, Grace Yungdahl; Eighth grade - Ashton Holtzen, Preston Pinkelman, Christina Rystrom, Shep Spahn; Seventh grade - Madalyn Johansen; Sixth grade - Reese David, Izaac Dickey, Lilly Peterson, Kiersten Portwine, Makayla Quilhot;.

Students on the Honor Roll are: Seniors - Madison Baker, Claire Harless, Emily Harris, Levi Johansen, Lane Kelley, Emily Noyd, Hannah Pfeifly, Reggie Rafert, Samantha Theis, Kamea Turner, Camron Watson; Juniors - Mackinzie Cole, Kelsie Davidson, Caitriona Deprez, Grant Hollinger, Austin Lundquist, Kjell Marsden, Ethan Peterson, Elias Smith, Morgan Stratman, Colby Young; Sophomores - Cael Lundstrom, Austin VanHorn; Freshmen - Sydnee Goossen, James Hennessy, Mallory Jensen, Beverly Miller, Garrett Miller, Randy Molt, Talia Nienhueser, Isaac Noyd, Mackenzie Nuttelman, Ethan Smith, Rachel Smith, Erica Stratman; Eighth grade - Tatum Baker, Colby Bolton, Madelynn Hennessy, Cory Hollinger, Hannah Linn, Jentry Lovejoy, Brexton Lundstrom, Damon Mickey, Haileigh Moutray, Josephine Noble, Haden Sittler; Seventh grade - Trevor Bolton, Jayden Fellows, Katie Frazier, Levi Miller, Chelsey Myers, Jacelyn Rutherford, Tobey Waller; Sixth grade - Shyanne Anderson, Andrew Dubas, Tanner Hollinger, Treven Nienhueser, Alex Noyd, Rafe Peterson, Brett Williams.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments