Try 1 month for 99¢

Students on dean’s list at Benedictine

ATCHISON, Kansas -- Benedictine College has recognized the following area students who have been named to the dean’s list during the fall semester, which ended in December: Columbus - Grant Lahm, Emma Strecker, Hannah Thomazin; David City - Elizabeth Dewispelare, Rebecca Hotovy.

Dean’s list designation requires students to be full-time with 12 hours, and a minimum grade point average of 3.5.

Scholarship given to Vrbka

WAYNE -- Micaiah Vrbka of Brainard has been awarded a Board of Trustees Scholarship valued at $21,000 to attend Wayne State College.

She will be a May graduate of Aquinas High School where she is involved in volleyball, basketball, band, choir, and is a member of the National Honor Society. She also attends Desiree’s Dancers, and participates in Teens for Life, SOUL Club, BBYC, and Stop and Think.

She is the daughter of Douglas and Nancy Vrbka.

Weidner earns BS degree

LINCOLN -- Chase Jaymes Weidner received his bachelor of science degree from University of Nebraska Lincoln during a ceremony held last month. His degree is in business administration with a major in marketing and a minor in management.

Weidner is the son of Craig Weidner and grandson of Chuck and Bernie Weidner, all of Columbus.

Hastings College names honor students

HASTINGS – Hastings College has announced the dean’s list for its fall 2018 semester. Eligibility requires a grade point average of 3.7 to 4.0 and be registered for full-time coursework. Students with an asterisk attained a 4.0: Albion - Tyler Hedlund*; Clarkson - Jenna Schmitz*; Columbus - Carly Cremers*, Emily Grant*, Joseph Jahn; Polk - Danielle Shenk*; Shelby - Brooke Hinrichs.

Elks chooses students of the month

Elks Country Club has chosen two students as Elks Teenagers of the Month. Ethan Thomas Dozler, a senior at Boone Central, is active in football, wrestling and baseball. He also is president of FFA, a member of the National Honor Society, BC Club, FCA, and participates in Quiz Bowl and school musicals. Outside of school, his hobbies include farming, hunting, fishing and playing sports. He is the son of Ron and Jennifer Dozler of Albion.

Norah Faith Renner, a senior at Columbus High School, is a member of the marching band and is a drum major. She participates in cross country and track, and is a member of CHS 101, National Honor Society, 4-H and is on the 4-H council. Her hobbies include spending time with friends, running, working out, playing guitar, traveling and cooking.

Students earn honors at CSC 

CHADRON -- William Reiter of Bellwood, and Kolton Held of Leigh, were two of 289 Chadron State College students who met requirements for the Fall 2018 President's List by earning a 4.0 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale. Students must be enrolled in at least 12 credit hours of coursework during the semester to qualify.

Cole Martinez of Ulysses, Ethan Bergt of Schuyler, Austin Casper of Albion, Emily Hand of Columbus, and Stephen Watson of Genoa, were among the 371 Chadron State College students who met requirements for the Fall 2018 Dean's List by earning at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point average while enrolled in at least 12 credit hours of coursework during the semester.

Christensen graduates from CSM

OMAHA -- Isabella Christensen of Albion, has earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the College of Saint Mary. She graduated magna cum laude during winter commencement held last month.

SDSU announces deans list

BROOKINGS, South Dakota -- The following students have been named to the dean's list for academic excellence after the fall 2018 semester at South Dakota State University: Columbus – Geena Groene, College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professionals; Taryn Pospisil, College of Education and Human Sciences.

To earn dean's list distinctions in SDSU's colleges, students must have completed a minimum of 12 credits and must have earned at least a 3.5 GPA.

UNK announces fall dean’s list

KEARNEY – the University of Nebraska at Kearney has announced students who earned placement on the dean’s list for the 2018 fall semester. Students who are on the dean’s list must have completed 12 credit hours or more of classes, with a minimum 3.5 grade point average. Among those honored are the following students from area communities: Abie – Rebekah Roh; Albion – Kendra Gonzalez, Hailey Schademann; Bellwood – Jonathan Drozda; Brainard – Lauren Rezac, Anna Wagoner; Clarks – Rachel Beck; Columbus – Henrique Adabo, Adrian Almeida, Georgina Artiga Rodriguez, Cameron Barnes, Jennifer Belsan, Grant Brunken, Blake Bubak, Zach Ciboron, Mia Grant, Kayla Hall, Alyssa Hartman, Hannah Haynes, Quin He, Dawson Jurado, Emily Kosch, Kayleen Kouma, Hannah Menke, Alexis Milburn, Jacob Novicki, Samuel Novicki, Braden Przymus, Autumn Rhoadsd, Hannah Sealock, Nathan Slusarski, Hunter Smith, Morgan Thorson, Danielle Tilley, Marcus Wagner, Christina Wagoner; Creston – Hannah Hake; David City – Jasmine Beringer, Julia Daro, Alex Eller, Sarah Juranek; Genoa – Mary Czarnick, Claire Swantek; Hordville – Cara DeMers; Humphrey – Emily Hemmer, Anna Wegener; Leigh – Megan Bahns, Kaitlyn Becher, Michael Koch, Sadie Petersen; Lindsay – Jenna Beller; Monroe – Ryan Range; Newman Grove – Olivia Slizoski, Cassandra Wojcik; Osceola – Cierra Fisher, Christian Schleif, Elizabeth Yungdahl; Petersburg – Paige Ketteler; St. Edward – Tara Buettner, Karli Hellbusch, Jenna Oberhauser, Keenan Rasmussen; Schuyler – Vanesa Chavez Munoz, Auston Hall, Vanessa Lara Garcia, Jennifer Novak; Shelby – Haley King, Taite Moore, tiffany Vavricek; Silver Creek – Cy Cannon, Kole Prososki; Stromsburg – Kaylen Miller; Ulysses – Mary Fiala, Sinclare Fiala, Kaitlynn Zitek.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments