Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Updated March 11

Editor's note: The March 8 print edition of the Schuyler Sun had some incorrect information regarding candidates in some races. They are corrected below.

Second District County Commissioner Gil Wigington will have a challenger in the May 15 primary election on the Republican ticket. Before the March 1 deadline, Gene Novak and Carl E. Grotelueschen of Schuyler filed on the Republican ticket. The winner of the primary will face Paul A. Mefford, the only Democratic candidate, barring any petition or write-in entries.

In District 3, incumbent Jerry Heard of Howells, in his third term, will face Republicans Jim Mejstrik and Lumir Jedlicka of Schuyler. The primary election is May 15. The general election is November 6.

County Surveyor Marvin L. Svoboda, an incumbent, is unchallenged in his re-election bid. 

County Attorney Denise Kracl, Democrat, will seek re-election, as will County Sheriff Paul Kruse, a Republican. Other elected county officials who filed for re-election are County Clerk Rita Mundil, Republican; District Court Clerk Mary Kay Bailey, Republican; County Treasurer Janis Kasik, Democrat; County Assessor Viola Bender, Democrat.

City and school races

The races for school boards and city government position are non-partisan. If filings fall short of the number required for a runoff, races will not be included on the ballot and will proceed to the general election. For example, if a board had three seats open, there would need to be seven candidates filed in order for the race to be placed on the primary ballot.

The primary will not have any city races on the ballot. Jon Knutson, councilman in the Third District, is unchallenged in his bid to replace 20-year Mayor David Reinecke, who opted not to seek another term.

Three Schuyler City Council incumbents are unchallenged: Alden Kment, First Ward; Antonio Rodriguez, Second Ward, and Daryl Holmberg, Third Ward.

The Clarkson City Council has two open seats and two candidates: Gary Ullery, and Diane Uher.

Three Schuyler Community School board incumbents - Holly Hild and Brian Vavricek and Richard A. Brabec - are unchallenged.

Clarkson School District #58 has one incumbent board member running for re-election, Robert Brabec, who is joined by newcomers Jerry Indra and Rhonda Hanel.

Howells/Dodge school board has one incumbent running for 2018, Jason Kreikemeier.

Four seats are up for re-election in Leigh Public Schools with Ryan Hoffman, Julie McMullin and Jason Mullenhoff filing as incumbents, and they were joined by Chris Kurpgeweit, Nathan Higby.


Load comments