Creighton vs. Nebraska, 4.9

Nebraska's Aaron Palensky makes the inning-ending catch on a fly ball by Creighton's Isaac Collins in the fourth inning April 9 at Haymarket Park.

First-year Nebraska baseball players Aaron Palensky and Cam Chick earned Big Ten honors Tuesday.

Palensky received second-team honors. The Southeast Community College-Beatrice transfer led the team in batting with a .339 average, including .323 in conference play. The sophomore also led the team in hits (65), doubles (11), home runs (five) and runs scored (36).

He has 20 multi-hit efforts this season, the most on the team, to go along with six multi-RBI performances, tied for second-most on the squad.

Chick, a freshman, earned second-team honors as a designated hitter. He hit .316 in league play and compiled 35 hits, 25 RBIs and 26 runs scored. Chick also was named to the All-Big Ten freshman team.

Michigan's Jordan Brewer was named player of the year, Indiana's Andrew Saalfrank was named pitcher of the year, Maryland's Maxwell Costes was named freshman of the year and Indiana's Jeff Mercer received the top coaching honor.

Brewer led the Big Ten in batting (.358), slugging (.637), hits (69), RBIs (52) and stolen bases (19).

Saalfrank was second in the Big Ten in wins (eight) and third in strikeouts (96).

Nebraska will play Minnesota in the opening round of the Big Ten Tournament at 9 p.m. Wednesday at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha.

The All-Big Ten teams:

First team: C Eli Wilson, Minnesota; 1B Maxwell Costes, Maryland; 2B Michael Massey, Illinois; SS Jack Dunn, Northwestern; 3B Alex Erro, Northwestern; OF Zac Taylor, Illinois; OF Jordan Brewer, Michigan; OF Dominic Canzone, Ohio State; SP Andy Fisher, Illinois; SP Andrew Saalfrank, Indiana; SP Jeff Criswell, Michigan; RP Garrett Acton, Illinois; DH Jordan Nwogu, Michigan; At-Large: Matt Lloyd, Indiana.

Second team: C Dillon Dingler, Ohio State; 1B Scotty Bradley, Indiana; 2B Royce Ando, Michigan State; SS Jack Blomgren, Michigan; 3B Cole Barr, Indiana; OF Randy Bednar, Maryland; OF Matt Gorski, Indiana; OF Aaron Palensky, Nebraska; SP Max Meyer, Minnesota; SP Dante Biasi, Penn State; SP Tevin Murray, Rutgers; RP Grant Leonard, Iowa; DH Cam Chick, Nebraska; At-Large: Brady Cherry, Ohio State.

Third team: C Joe Donovan, Michigan; 1B Jimmy Kerr, Michigan; 2B Shawn Goosenberg, Northwestern; SS AJ Lee, Maryland; 3B Taylor Wright, Maryland; OF Jack Yalowitz, Illinois; OF Elijah Dunham, Indiana; OF Jesse Franklin, Michigan; SP Hunter Parsons, Maryland; SP Karl Kauffmann, Michigan; SP Seth Lonsway, Ohio State; RP Bo Hofstra, Purdue; DH Michael Pineiro, Maryland; At-Large: Cole McKenzie, Purdue.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments