Subscribe for 33¢ / day

The Columbus USBC Association will be holding its annual Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet on March 3, at the VFW.

Tickets for the banquet can be purchased at either bowling center for $15. The tickets will be on sale from now until Feb. 28. Social hour will run from 5:30-6:30 p.m., with the meal being served at 6:30 p.m. Following the dinner, the ceremonies will begin. There will be four cash drawings.

First prize is $100, second is $50, third and fourth for $25.

All bowlers who competed in all three events -- singles, doubles and team -- will be eligible. You must be present to claim the prize.

The 2016-2017 All-City Women’s and Men’s teams will be introduced. Shawna Woosley, Jane Moore, Emily Hoefer, Shayna Hogan and Wanda Borowiak all earned women’s first-team honors. The men’s first-team members are Wyatt Ellis, George McCarthy, Dennis Meyer, Jeff Nitz and John Eckholt. All first-team members will receive an All-City certificate. All members from both the women’s and men’s second-team will also be honored. Barb Sampson, Dawn Horak, Diana Lippstreu, Tami Swanson, Kate Paprocki, Terry Henke, Gary Muth, Mike Anderson, Chuck Jensen and yours truly were named to the second teams.

All scratch and handicap winners from this year’s Open and Women’s city tournaments will receive plaques. The three teams that will be honored from the city tournaments are Bowling Wannabes, Friends and A J Bloebaum Electric. Bowling Wannabes won both the handicap and scratch titles for the women and their members are Ashlee Lueders, Stacie Rickert, Crystal Riley, Paige Sohl and Woosley. The Friends claimed the men’s scratch title and their team members include Muth, Kyle Brestel, Jensen, Anderson and Eckholt. A J Bloebaum Electric won the handicap title, and their team members are Muth, John Riedmiller, Tom Riedmiller, Brestel and Eric Brabec.

The doubles winners for the women were Shayla Long and Hoefer, who won the scratch title. The handicap title went to Paprocki and Michelle Rosno. The open saw Doug Adamy and Ron Oborny claim the handicap title. Bryan Wachal and Tyler Peterson won the scratch title.

The singles winners were Deb Murcek claiming the handicap title, while Hoefer won the scratch event. All events winners for the women were Crystal Riley and Hoefer. Riley won the handicap title, while Hoefer won the scratch title. Marty Alstadt and Eckholt claimed the singles titles. Alstadt won the Handicap title, while Eckholt took the scratch title. The open all events titles were won by Adamy (handicap) and McCarthy (scratch).

Following the all-city teams and city tournaments honorees, the main events of the evening begin. First, the senior bowlers of the year from each bowling center will be honored. From Boulevards Lanes, Rollo DeBower was named their senior bowler of the year. Laverna Rickert was named the senior bowler from Westbrook Lanes. The Lifetime Achievement award winner from Boulevard Lanes will be Don Struebing, while Westbrook Lanes will be honoring Gene Zeilinger.

The banquet closes with the induction of the two newest members to the Columbus USBC Association Hall of Fame. Tami Swanson and George McCarthy are our newest members to the hall of fame. Swanson rolled her career high series of a 736 on Nov. 16, 2008. It was during that series in which she shot her high game of a 289. She was the 2008 All-Events handicap champion. Swanson is a two-time second-team all-city member. Swanson also served a couple of years on the youth board. McCarthy is a six-time All-City bowler. He is a two-time scratch all events champion. McCarthy has 22 career 300 games and 13 career 800’s, with 829 being his high series. He becomes the first third-generation bowler of the Columbus USBC Hall of Fame. These are just a couple of their many bowling accomplishments. I ask that you please come out Saturday night and help us welcome Swanson and McCarthy into the Columbus Bowling Hall of Fame.

This week’s bowlers of the week from Boulevard Lanes are Zach Lesiak, Gary Goodrich and Sharon Borowiak. Lesiak shot the high series for the week with a 767 on games of 266-268-233. Goodrich shared the men’s honor by rolling a 724 series on scores of 256-233-235. Borowiak took home the senior honor with her 213 game and 483 series. Jane Moore had the high game of the ladies with a 244, while Amanda “Star Bubble” Staub had the high series for the week with a 594. Eric Johnson and Gus Schrad tied for the high game for the men with a 279.

Westbrook Lanes’ bowlers of the week were Mark Hilmer, Ken Van Dyke, Shirley Wachal and Dennis Beck. Hilmer and Van Dyke were named co-bowlers of the week for the men. Hilmer had a 278 game and a 698 series, while Van Dyke had a 279 game and a 694 series. Van Dyke’s game was the high game for the men. Wachal rolled the high series for the ladies with a 612 to earn her selection. Beck received the seniors pick with his 636 series. Linda Rieck shot the high game for the women with a 253, while John Eckholt’s 780 series was tops for the men.

Until next week, be sure and purchase your tickets to the Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet.

Bowlers of the Week

Boulevard Lanes

Zach Lesiak 268 – 767

Gary Goodrich 256 – 724

Sharon Borowiak 213 – 483

Westbrook Lanes

Mark Hilmer 278 – 698

Ken Van Dyke 279 – 694

Shirley Wachal xxx – 612

Dennis Beck xxx – 636

Chuck McCarthy is a local bowler whose columns are featured weekly in The Telegram during bowling season.


Load comments